-          4,000 people /year are diagnosed with peanut allergy’s ( this is ~ 11/day)

-          Peanuts are legumes

-          Some peanuts are not gluten free, they are cross-contaminated


Hidden Ingredients:

Contains Peanuts:

Arachic oil
Arachis hypogaea
Artificial nuts
Beer nuts
Boiled peanuts 

Cold pressed, extruded, or expelled peanut oil

Crushed nuts, crushed peanuts
Dry roasted peanuts
Earth nuts
Goober peas
Ground nuts, ground peanuts
Hydrolyzed peanut protein

Hypogaeic acid
Mixed nuts
Monkey nuts
Nu nuts flavored nuts
Nut pieces
Peanuts, peanut butter, peanut butter chips, peanut butter morsels
Peanut flour
Peanut paste
Peanuts sauce, peanut syrup
Spanish peanuts
Virginia peanuts

May Contain Peanuts:

  • Artificial flavoring
  • Baked goods
  • Candy
  • Chili
  • Chocolate
  • Crumb toppings
  • Ethnic foods: African, Asian, Chinese, Indian, Indonesian, Thai, Vietnamese, Mexican
  • Fried foods
  • Flavoring
  • Graham cracker crust
  • Hydrolyzed plant protein
  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
  • Marzipan
  • Mole sauce
  • Natural flavoring
  • Nougat

May Not Be Safe:

Lupine is a legume that cross-reacts with peanut at a high rate and should be avoided by peanut allergic patients. It does not fall under the labeling requirements of FALCPA. Lupine is also known as lupinus albus and can be found in seed or flour form.

Some allergy experts advise those allergic to peanuts to avoid all tree nuts.

Leave a Reply