Get your Drink On- The Skinny on Gluten Free Alcohol

Honestly Wikipedia says it all, if you scroll down mid way through their Gluten Free Diet page, its simple and to the point.  With Gluten Free being more in demand and more research being done on it, Wiki’s articles and information have drastically improved in just the last 2 years from 2010-2012.

9 Tips and Recommendations:

1)  Research, Research, and Research…keep researching…just because you find an answer you like that might allow you to drink something, doesn’t mean it’s accurate

2)  When starting out gluten free, I strongly recommend absolutely no grain based anything, even alcohol for the first 3-6 months (including corn and oats)

3)  Once the healing process is on its way, try gluten free beers

4)  Slowly add in other alcohols in one at a time to see what you react to… don’t mix a bunch together

5)  If you find a wine that you don’t react to, stick to it

6)  I only drink potato based vodka and 100 percent agave tequila…yes I miss gin, and I dream about maple rimed whiskey drinks garnished with bacon, or a great Manhattan

7)  Don’t trust a company that is trying to sell a product.  With gluten awareness on the rise these company’s are seeing dollar signs disappear, a great example of this is Budweiser and Bud Lite

8)  Once you have gathered information, and there is tons of it out there, filter it to what works for you, listen to your body, and decide for you and your health

9)  Be excited because you will hopefully save some money on Alcohol that you may have spent too much on before …or at least I know I am saving money!!!

 

 

For further information view some research that I have put together for viewers:

Is Wine Gluten Free?

 

 

Gluten Free Beer and Ciders

 

 

What Liquor is Gluten Free?

 

 

Common Questions

What makes something or even beer gluten free: Any product food or beverage must have less then 20 parts per million of a gluten grain (wheat, rye, barley, malt, spelt, or oats) to be considered gluten free.

The argument that grains break down during the distillation process: This is a tough one, and in my opinion its like EA1 and how it spirals and hooks to DNA.  So what I’m saying is in a normal food allergy like carrots or apples, normally the protein of this food breaks down with heat.  In return this protein changes and your body no longer reacts to the protein.  So most people with a carrot or an apple allergy can have a cooked carrot or a cooked/processed apple like apple sauce or an apple pie.

However, gluten, grains, and wheat, rye, barley, malt, spelt, and oats DO NOT BREAK DOWN WITH HEAT, or distillation.  You can not cook a muffin with wheat flower in it and expect the protein to break down so that you could eat it the way you could eat applesauce.  Obviously, a Celiac can not eat a muffin…so why could a Celiac drink heated grain based alcohol?…If someone can give me a honest scientific answer with proof to this, I would be elated.

Do grains break down with heat, changing the protein: So, if an alcohol company claims that the distillation process heats the protein of the grain and breaks it down, they are full of it.  But if they claim during the a double distillation process that the grain is extracted and their product tests under 20 ppm in the product and remaining amino acids, they may be a little closer to the truth.





Leave a Reply